Magazine vs online: Volume 2


My post on magazine vs online sales (3 March) talked about the rise in online traffic to magazines’ websites, following a trend that was adopted by newspaper’s online success. Read the magazine one here, and the newspaper one here.

The first magazine to feel the punch has been Maxim. It’s print version has been axed! It’s online existence will remain as it is though.

So I guess it answers my curiosity from my earlier post on the issue. The rising traffic on a magazines websites means bad news for it’s print version. With many magazines developing their online content, I suspect more magazine brands will have to go print-free.

I wonder who will be following Maxim next…

~ by nessahinkaya on April 3, 2009.

2 Responses to “Magazine vs online: Volume 2”

  1. Who knows maybe Esquire will be the next. Given their attempt to “digitize” their cover last October. Then again, you could argue they did that to revive the print format.I personally think newspapers are very fit for the digital environment. As news develops the content can be updated by the minute (besides, you throw them out anyway). However, like your vogue friends I like my magazines! Maybe we’ll see more digital magazines..I’d like that 🙂

  2. more “digitized” magazines I mean:)

Leave a Reply

 
